---
title: "Archive and unarchive channels"
---
import useBaseUrl from '@docusaurus/useBaseUrl';
import Tabs from '@theme/Tabs';
import TabItem from '@theme/TabItem';
## Archive a channel
Delete [public channels](/end-user-guide/collaborate/channel-types#public-channels) and [private channels](/end-user-guide/collaborate/channel-types#private-channels) when they're no longer needed by archiving them. Archiving channels removes them from the channel sidebar and marks them as read-only. Anyone can archive a public or private channel they're a member of, unless your system admin has [disabled](/administration-guide/onboard/advanced-permissions) your ability to do so.
You can continue to access archived channels, unless your system admin has [disabled](/administration-guide/configure/site-configuration-settings#allow-users-to-view-archived-channels) your ability to do so.
To archive a channel, select the channel name at the top of the center pane to access the drop-down menu, then select **Archive Channel**.
To archive a channel:
1. Tap the channel you want to delete.

2. Tap the **More**
icon located in the top right corner of the app.

3. Tap **View info**.

4. Tap **Archive Channel**.

5. Tap **Yes** to confirm.

- When a Mattermost user is deactivated in the system, your [direct message channel](/end-user-guide/collaborate/channel-types#direct-message-channels) with that user are archived and marked as read-only. An **Archived** icon
displays next to archived channels. From Mattermost v11.5, archived private channels display a distinct **Archive Lock** icon to differentiate them from other archived channels.
- [Group message channels](/end-user-guide/collaborate/channel-types#group-message-channels) can't be archived, but they can be closed to hide them from the channel sidebar.
- The default **Town Square** channel can't be archived.
- System admins can archive channels without needing to be a channel member by using the System Console.
- Because a copy of the channel exists on the server, you can't reuse the URL of an archived channel when [creating a new channel](/end-user-guide/collaborate/create-channels).
## Unarchive a channel
System admins and Team admins can restore archived channels. When a channel is unarchived, channel membership and all its content is restored, unless messages and files have been deleted based on a [data retention policy](/administration-guide/configure/compliance-configuration-settings#data-retention-policies).
Search for the channel if required. Then, open the channel, select the channel name at the top of the center pane to access the drop-down menu and select **Unarchive Channel**.

To unarchive a channel:
1. Tap the channel you want to unarchive.

2. Tap the **More**
icon located in the top right corner of the app.

3. Tap **View info**.

4. Tap **Unarchive Channel**.

5. Tap **Yes** to confirm.

Alternatively, system admins can unarchive channels [via the mmctl](/administration-guide/manage/mmctl-command-line-tool#mmctl-channel-unarchive), and Team admins can unarchive channels [via the API](https://api.mattermost.com/#operation/RestoreChannel).