---
title: "Convert group messages to private channels"
---
import useBaseUrl from '@docusaurus/useBaseUrl';
import Tabs from '@theme/Tabs';
import TabItem from '@theme/TabItem';
From Mattermost v9.1, you can change the members of your group conversation by converting the group message to a private channel. When a group message is converted to private, its history and membership are preserved. Membership in a private channel remains as invitation only.
- Any member of an existing group message, except [guests](/administration-guide/onboard/guest-accounts), can convert that group message to a private channel.
- Conversation history will be visible to all channel members.
- All group message participants must share at least one team membership.
1. Select the group message name at the top of the center pane to access the drop-down menu, then select **Convert to Private Channel**.
2. Specify the team where the new private channel will be created. You're prompted to specify a team when all group message members share more than one team membership.
3. Enter a channel name.
4. Select **Convert to private channel**.
1. Tap the group message you want to convert to a private channel.

2. Tap the **More**
icon located in the top right corner of the app.

3. Tap **View info**.

4. Tap **Convert to a Private Channel**.

5. Enter the private channel name.

6. Tap **Convert to Private Channel** to confirm.