--- title: "Join and leave channels" --- import useBaseUrl from '@docusaurus/useBaseUrl'; import Tabs from '@theme/Tabs'; import TabItem from '@theme/TabItem'; ## Join a channel Channels are either **public** or **private**. - **Public** channels are identified with a **Globe** Public channels are identified with a Globe icon. icon. Anyone on the team can join a public channel. - **Private** channels are typically used for sensitive topics, and are identified with a **Lock** Private channels are identified with a Lock icon. icon. You must be invited to private channels by another channel member. To join a private channel, you need to be added to the channel by a member of that channel. To join a public channel: 1. Select the **Add channels** button in the channel sidebar, then select **Browse Channels**. > You can browse channels using the Add channels button > > Alternatively, you can select The Plus icon provides access to channel and direct message functionality. at the top of the channel sidebar, then select **Browse Channels**. > > ![You can browse available channels to join using the + option at the top of the channel sidebar.](/images/browse-channels.png) 2. Select **Join** next to the public channel you want to join. > ![When browsing available channels, select the join option next to any channel to become a member.](/images/join-channels.png) 1. Tap The Plus icon provides access to channel and direct message functionality. located in the top right corner the app. ![Tap the plus icon to view additional options.](/images/mobile-select-a-channel.jpg) 2. Tap **Browse Channels**. ![Click on Browse Channels to view the list of public channels.](/images/create-channel-or-open-direct-message-on-mobile.jpg) 3. Tap the public channel you want to join. ![Tap on the public channel name that you want to join.](/images/mobile-browse-public-channels.jpg) When you join channels, depending on the [channel actions configured](/end-user-guide/collaborate/create-channels), you may see a welcome message, and channels may be added to [a category in your channel sidebar](/end-user-guide/preferences/customize-your-channel-sidebar) automatically. Using Mattermost in a web browser or the desktop app, access **Channel Actions** from the channel name drop-down menu in the center pane to see what automatic actions have been configured. See the following documentation to learn more about working with channels: - [Create channels](/end-user-guide/collaborate/create-channels) - [Browse channels](/end-user-guide/collaborate/browse-channels) - [Customize your channel sidebar](/end-user-guide/preferences/customize-your-channel-sidebar) ## Leave a channel When you leave a private channel, you must be re-added by another channel member to rejoin. You won't receive mention notifications from a channel if you're not a member of that channel. All users are added to the **Town Square** channel automatically. This means that users can't [archive](/end-user-guide/collaborate/archive-unarchive-channels#archive-a-channel), [unarchive](/end-user-guide/collaborate/archive-unarchive-channels#unarchive-a-channel), or leave the **Town Square** channel. However, [guests](/administration-guide/onboard/guest-accounts) who are manually invited to **Town Square** can leave the channel. Select the channel name at the top of the center pane to access the drop-down menu, then select **Leave Channel**. ![You can use channel options available from the channel name to leave a channel.](/images/leave-channels.png) 1. Tap the channel you want to leave. ![Select the channel that you want to leave.](/images/mobile-select-a-channel.jpg) 2. Tap the **More** Use the More icon in the top left corner to access Mattermost desktop apps customization settings. icon located in the top right corner of the app. ![Tap on More options to access available options for the channel you want to leave.](/images/mobile-select-more-options-for-a-channel.jpg) 3. Tap **Leave channel**. ![Tap on Leave channel to leave the current channel.](/images/mobile-select-view-info-for-a-channel.jpg) 4. Tap on **Leave** to confirm you choice. ![Tap on Leave to confirm your choice.](/images/mobile-confirm-leave-a-channel.jpg) ### Leave a public channel added by a membership policy From Mattermost v11.8.0, when you leave a public channel you were added to by a membership policy, Mattermost asks you to confirm: - Choosing **Leave channel** removes you from the channel. - Choosing **Mute instead** keeps you in the channel and mutes its notifications. If the channel is already muted, Mattermost shows **Cancel** and **Leave channel** instead of **Mute instead**.