--- title: "Archive and unarchive channels" --- import useBaseUrl from '@docusaurus/useBaseUrl'; import Tabs from '@theme/Tabs'; import TabItem from '@theme/TabItem'; ## Archive a channel Delete [public channels](/end-user-guide/collaborate/channel-types#public-channels) and [private channels](/end-user-guide/collaborate/channel-types#private-channels) when they're no longer needed by archiving them. Archiving channels removes them from the channel sidebar and marks them as read-only. Anyone can archive a public or private channel they're a member of, unless your system admin has [disabled](/administration-guide/onboard/advanced-permissions) your ability to do so. You can continue to access archived channels, unless your system admin has [disabled](/administration-guide/configure/site-configuration-settings#allow-users-to-view-archived-channels) your ability to do so. To archive a channel, select the channel name at the top of the center pane to access the drop-down menu, then select **Archive Channel**. To archive a channel: 1. Tap the channel you want to delete. ![Select a channel that you want to edit.](/images/mobile-select-a-channel.jpg) 2. Tap the **More** Use the More icon in the top left corner to access Mattermost desktop apps customization settings. icon located in the top right corner of the app. ![Tap on More options to access available options for the channel.](/images/mobile-select-more-options-for-a-channel.jpg) 3. Tap **View info**. ![Tap on View info to see the basic channel info.](/images/mobile-select-view-info-for-a-channel.jpg) 4. Tap **Archive Channel**. ![Tap on Archive channel to archive the current channel.](/images/mobile-edit-channel.jpg) 5. Tap **Yes** to confirm. ![Tap on Yes to confirm your choice.](/images/mobile-confirm-archive-a-channel.jpg) - When a Mattermost user is deactivated in the system, your [direct message channel](/end-user-guide/collaborate/channel-types#direct-message-channels) with that user are archived and marked as read-only. An **Archived** icon Archived channels are identified with a File Box icon. displays next to archived channels. From Mattermost v11.5, archived private channels display a distinct **Archive Lock** icon to differentiate them from other archived channels. - [Group message channels](/end-user-guide/collaborate/channel-types#group-message-channels) can't be archived, but they can be closed to hide them from the channel sidebar. - The default **Town Square** channel can't be archived. - System admins can archive channels without needing to be a channel member by using the System Console. - Because a copy of the channel exists on the server, you can't reuse the URL of an archived channel when [creating a new channel](/end-user-guide/collaborate/create-channels). ## Unarchive a channel System admins and Team admins can restore archived channels. When a channel is unarchived, channel membership and all its content is restored, unless messages and files have been deleted based on a [data retention policy](/administration-guide/configure/compliance-configuration-settings#data-retention-policies). Search for the channel if required. Then, open the channel, select the channel name at the top of the center pane to access the drop-down menu and select **Unarchive Channel**. ![Unarchive a channel.](/images/unarchive-channel.png) To unarchive a channel: 1. Tap the channel you want to unarchive. ![Select a channel that you want to edit.](/images/mobile-select-a-channel.jpg) 2. Tap the **More** Use the More icon in the top left corner to access Mattermost desktop apps customization settings. icon located in the top right corner of the app. ![Tap on More options to access available options for the channel.](/images/mobile-select-more-options-for-a-channel.jpg) 3. Tap **View info**. ![Tap on View info to see the basic channel info.](/images/mobile-select-view-info-for-a-channel.jpg) 4. Tap **Unarchive Channel**. ![Tap on Unarchive channel to unarchive the current channel.](/images/mobile-unarchive-a-channel.jpg) 5. Tap **Yes** to confirm. ![Tap on Yes to confirm your choice.](/images/mobile-confirm-unarchive-a-channel.jpg) Alternatively, system admins can unarchive channels [via the mmctl](/administration-guide/manage/mmctl-command-line-tool#mmctl-channel-unarchive), and Team admins can unarchive channels [via the API](https://api.mattermost.com/#operation/RestoreChannel).