--- title: "Convert group messages to private channels" --- import useBaseUrl from '@docusaurus/useBaseUrl'; import Tabs from '@theme/Tabs'; import TabItem from '@theme/TabItem'; From Mattermost v9.1, you can change the members of your group conversation by converting the group message to a private channel. When a group message is converted to private, its history and membership are preserved. Membership in a private channel remains as invitation only. - Any member of an existing group message, except [guests](/administration-guide/onboard/guest-accounts), can convert that group message to a private channel. - Conversation history will be visible to all channel members. - All group message participants must share at least one team membership. 1. Select the group message name at the top of the center pane to access the drop-down menu, then select **Convert to Private Channel**. 2. Specify the team where the new private channel will be created. You're prompted to specify a team when all group message members share more than one team membership. 3. Enter a channel name. 4. Select **Convert to private channel**. 1. Tap the group message you want to convert to a private channel. ![Select a group that you want to convert.](/images/mobile-select-a-group-message.jpg) 2. Tap the **More** Use the More icon in the top left corner to access Mattermost desktop apps customization settings. icon located in the top right corner of the app. ![Tap on More options to access available options for the group.](/images/mobile-select-more-options-for-a-group.jpg) 3. Tap **View info**. ![Tap on View info to see the basic group info.](/images/mobile-select-view-info-for-a-group.jpg) 4. Tap **Convert to a Private Channel**. ![Tap on Convert to a Private Channel to convert the group.](/images/mobile-convert-group-to-private-channel.jpg) 5. Enter the private channel name. ![Type a name for the Private channel.](/images/mobile-provide-private-channel-name-for-the-group.jpg) 6. Tap **Convert to Private Channel** to confirm.