---
title: "Join and leave channels"
---
import useBaseUrl from '@docusaurus/useBaseUrl';
import Tabs from '@theme/Tabs';
import TabItem from '@theme/TabItem';
## Join a channel
Channels are either **public** or **private**.
- **Public** channels are identified with a **Globe**
icon. Anyone on the team can join a public channel.
- **Private** channels are typically used for sensitive topics, and are identified with a **Lock**
icon. You must be invited to private channels by another channel member.
To join a private channel, you need to be added to the channel by a member of that channel.
To join a public channel:
1. Select the **Add channels** button in the channel sidebar, then select **Browse Channels**.
>
>
> Alternatively, you can select
at the top of the channel sidebar, then select **Browse Channels**.
>
> 
2. Select **Join** next to the public channel you want to join.
> 
1. Tap
located in the top right corner the app.

2. Tap **Browse Channels**.

3. Tap the public channel you want to join.

When you join channels, depending on the [channel actions configured](/end-user-guide/collaborate/create-channels), you may see a welcome message, and channels may be added to [a category in your channel sidebar](/end-user-guide/preferences/customize-your-channel-sidebar) automatically. Using Mattermost in a web browser or the desktop app, access **Channel Actions** from the channel name drop-down menu in the center pane to see what automatic actions have been configured.
See the following documentation to learn more about working with channels:
- [Create channels](/end-user-guide/collaborate/create-channels)
- [Browse channels](/end-user-guide/collaborate/browse-channels)
- [Customize your channel sidebar](/end-user-guide/preferences/customize-your-channel-sidebar)
## Leave a channel
When you leave a private channel, you must be re-added by another channel member to rejoin. You won't receive mention notifications from a channel if you're not a member of that channel.
All users are added to the **Town Square** channel automatically. This means that users can't [archive](/end-user-guide/collaborate/archive-unarchive-channels#archive-a-channel), [unarchive](/end-user-guide/collaborate/archive-unarchive-channels#unarchive-a-channel), or leave the **Town Square** channel. However, [guests](/administration-guide/onboard/guest-accounts) who are manually invited to **Town Square** can leave the channel.
Select the channel name at the top of the center pane to access the drop-down menu, then select **Leave Channel**.

1. Tap the channel you want to leave.

2. Tap the **More**
icon located in the top right corner of the app.

3. Tap **Leave channel**.

4. Tap on **Leave** to confirm you choice.

### Leave a public channel added by a membership policy
From Mattermost v11.8.0, when you leave a public channel you were added to by a membership policy, Mattermost asks you to confirm:
- Choosing **Leave channel** removes you from the channel.
- Choosing **Mute instead** keeps you in the channel and mutes its notifications.
If the channel is already muted, Mattermost shows **Cancel** and **Leave channel** instead of **Mute instead**.