---
title: Deactivate your organization
---
import {SUPPORT_EMAIL} from "astro:env/client";
import FlattenedSteps from "../../components/FlattenedSteps.astro";
import NavigationSteps from "../../components/NavigationSteps.astro";
import OwnerOnly from "../include/_OwnerOnly.mdx";
If you are no longer using a Zulip organization, you can deactivate it. When you
deactivate an organization, you can specify the time period after which the
organization's data will be permanently deleted.
## Deactivate an organization
1. Under **Deactivate organization**, click **Deactivate organization**.
1. Select when the organization's data (users, channels, messages, etc.)
should be permanently deleted.
1. Approve by clicking **Confirm**.
## Restore a deactivated organization
A deactivated organization can be restored until its data is deleted.
If you deactivated your organization by accident, please contact
{SUPPORT_EMAIL} as soon as possible.
## Related articles
* [Deactivate your account](/help/deactivate-your-account)